Romantic Art Print by Willem Haenraet
(c) Willem Haenraet

There is a place near the clouds, near a dream, near love. A place where blind cupid learns archery and the poets learn their rhymes. A place that knows neither the sorrow of yesterday nor the worry of tomorrow. Today is all that there is.

Will you go with me then, if I take your hand?

I have drowned in sweet romance all summer long. In the pages of novels and in the stacked yellowing letters. Then summer flew past me, carving a hole in my chest where my heart should have been. The warm breeze flew past me, taking with itself sweet romance and happiness. Alas, it eludes me; my happiness eludes me.

Shall we go then to the place where we could discover happiness again?

I want you like a sin. I want every inch of you every nightfall forever in my arms. I want you on our moon-bathed bed. I want you like I want breath to live, to refill my spirit, to uplift my soul. I want you to want me like I want you. Does it not sting your heart to know that I have wept for your love? Or pinch your skin to know that I gave you my all, denied you nothing, and received nothing at all? My love was awarded not with a gentle kiss but with a cutting blade across my maiden heart. Twice. There was so much I had for you, so much I still have, if only you allow me.

Will you not let me walk you till the end of love?

I have seen your sorrows. And I have been there, dearest, with tears in my eyes I have been there. What causes you pain cause me pain tenfold. I do declare upon my honour that no one can hope to love you as well as I do. No one can understand you like I do. I am the torch that your way will illumine. Yet if you still choose to see only darkness, forget me, abandon me, remove me from your thoughts. And I shall too, think of you only as a beautiful dream I dreamt whilst slumbering in the place where blind cupid learns archery and the poets learn their rhymes. A place that knows neither the sorrow of yesterday nor the worry of tomorrow. Where today is all that there is.

7 thoughts on “Today is all that there is

  1. Ms. Kay tee, you nailed it again. Such a visualised sorrow. Reminds me very well of the love that I had once, the sorrow that they caused. And yet I love, though, live still loves me, but I guess that’s just to keep me apiece.

    Like

Leave a comment