Wander through and through

Paintings by Edward Williams
(c) Edward Williams

The night is ghostly dark,

The moon- a pale hue,

Amidst the earth’s lost depths,

Did I wander through and through.

“What afflicts thee?”I hear you ask.

“That through the murky depths alone

When repose at thy brow must lie

You seize Luna’s nightly throne?”

A man I knew not long ago

-beauty incarnate God,

Divinest presence afore whom

All mortals appeared flawed.

Eyes were a flame in ocean’s depth

Words like manna down the throat,

His lips spilled holy water in which

I bathed under night’s cloak.

Upon my heart he pressed his own

He bared for me the unknown, unseen

He cut my wings, he let me fall,

And with his love he made me bleed.

Bleed and bleed, by and by

Drop by drop yet never die

Dies alone the man and his lies

Wingless, wounded, still I fly.

The heartless beauty I loved true

Sliced my heart, devoured then threw.

Yet until love’s lost depths I find

Will I wander through and through.

7 thoughts on “Wander through and through

Leave a Reply

